How much does a GDPR representative cost?
For the smallest companies, published prices in November 2026 ran from a few hundred to about a thousand euros or pounds a year. Covering the UK as well as the EU usually costs more. In our view, what each price includes, such as request handling and renewal terms, matters more than the lowest number.
On this page
This guide is for you if your company is outside the EU, has customers or users there, and needs a GDPR representative. The GDPR is the EU's data protection law. A representative is your contact point in the EU for data protection authorities, which enforce the GDPR, and for the people whose data you hold.[1] The rule covers you whether you decide how the data is used (a controller) or handle it for a client (a processor).[1] If you are unsure, start with our guide for US companies with EU customers.
What do GDPR representatives charge?
We checked the published prices of eight providers on 4 November 2026, taking each one's entry plan at its smallest company size, for EU + UK cover where they publish it. Prices are converted to euros at the European Central Bank's reference rate of 3 November 2026.[2] Gabsor's Essential plan, for companies under $500k in revenue, is $79 a month, billed annually.
- Provider, EU + UK price
- EU only (no EU + UK price published)
- Gabsor Essential, $79/month billed annually
You can pay less than Gabsor. Two of the eight publish an EU + UK price below Gabsor's.
What do you get at each price?
Every representative, at any price, must be appointed in writing.[1] It must be established, meaning based, in an EU country where the people you serve or monitor are.[1] Authorities and the people whose data you hold (data subjects) must be able to contact it instead of you, or as well as you.[1] It must also keep your record of processing activities (ROPA) "where applicable" and show it to an authority that asks.[1]
| What you get | Cheapest providers | Mid-range providers | Gabsor Essential |
|---|---|---|---|
| Yearly price, EU + UK | Cheapest providers: From €390; 2 of 3 publish no EU + UK price (EU price €348–€420) | Mid-range providers: €588–€1,425; 2 of 5 publish no EU + UK price (EU price €490–€1,140) | Gabsor Essential: $948 ($79 × 12) |
| EU and UK in one plan | Cheapest providers: 2 of 3 sell the UK separately or as an add-on; 1 does not say | Mid-range providers: 2 of 5 show one price for both; 2 sell the UK separately; 1 does not say | Gabsor Essential: One plan, from GAB COMPLIANCE LTD in Dublin and London |
| Requests from people and authorities | Cheapest providers: 1 of 3 caps forwarded requests at 10 a year; 2 of 3 state no per-request fee | Mid-range providers: 1 of 5 sells handling of people's data requests as an add-on; 4 do not say | Gabsor Essential: Included on every plan, subject to fair use; no per-request fees |
| Who deals with an authority's letter | Cheapest providers: Not stated | Mid-range providers: Not stated | Gabsor Essential: Handled by the Gabsor team |
| Letter of appointment and certificate | Cheapest providers: 2 of 3 state a designation letter; 1 of 3 also a certificate | Mid-range providers: Not stated | Gabsor Essential: Both, in about five minutes |
| Privacy-notice wording | Cheapest providers: 1 of 3 includes it; 2 do not say | Mid-range providers: Not stated | Gabsor Essential: Included |
| ROPA tool | Cheapest providers: Not stated | Mid-range providers: Not stated | Gabsor Essential: ROPA builder; made available to authorities on request |
| Price at renewal | Cheapest providers: 1 of 3 is cheaper from year two; 2 of 3 renew automatically | Mid-range providers: 1 of 5 renews automatically; 1 changes price if you move up a size band; 3 do not say | Gabsor Essential: No change during a term; any change from the next renewal, with notice |
| Setup fee | Cheapest providers: 2 of 3 state none; 1 does not say | Mid-range providers: 1 of 5 states none; 4 do not say | Gabsor Essential: No setup fee listed; one flat subscription |
| “Cheapest” is the three lowest-priced of the eight; “mid-range” is the other five. The ranking uses each provider's EU + UK price, or its EU price where it publishes no EU + UK price. Provider prices are in euros at the ECB rate of 3 November 2026; one is a monthly price × 12, and not every provider says whether its prices include VAT. Compare Gabsor's three plans on the pricing page. | |||
Also ask about exit terms: a plan may renew automatically unless you give notice, such as a month ahead. Miss it, and you pay for another year.
What does it cost not to appoint one?
Not appointing a required representative can bring a fine of up to €10 million. For a business, the cap is 2% of its worldwide turnover (revenue) in the previous financial year, if that is higher.[1] In the UK, the cap is £8.7 million or 2%.[5][6] In our view, the real exposure for a small company is the enforcement process rather than the maximum: letters with deadlines, orders to put things right, and your time. One published case: on 12 May 2021, the Dutch data protection authority announced a €525,000 fine against LocateFamily.com for having no EU representative.[7]
When is it free or cheaper?
In our view, a representative costs nothing only when you do not need one. A company is exempt only if what it does with personal data meets all three of these conditions:[1]
- It is occasional.
- It includes no large-scale use of especially sensitive data, such as health data, or of criminal-conviction data.
- It is unlikely to put people's rights at risk.
The EDPB says your use of data is occasional only if it is not regular and falls outside the normal course of your business.[4] A product people in the EU use every month is not occasional, however few they are. Collecting emails once for a prize draw at a single event, then deleting them, could be. See who is exempt for the full test.
Early-stage startups can apply to Gabsor's Startup Program for reduced rates.
What does Gabsor charge?
Gabsor's pricing has three GDPR plans, set by yearly revenue. The card below shows Essential, billed annually. On monthly billing with no commitment, it is $99 a month; the pricing page lists other terms. Professional and Business are $159 and $279 a month, billed annually.
If you hold more than one type of appointment with Gabsor (GDPR, AI Act, Digital Services Act or Data Act), the highest-priced one is charged in full and each further one's recurring fee is reduced by 20%. EU and UK GDPR cover count as one appointment. Setup and documentation-review fees are not discounted.GDPR Essential plan
$79per month
Billed annually. Excl. VAT.
For companies under $500k in revenue.
Set up in about five minutes. Companies and individuals can both sign up.
What's included
- EU and UK representative, letter of appointment, certificate
- Privacy-policy wording and compliance badge
- Data-subject and authority requests included, no per-request fees (fair use)
- Email and chat support
Prices in USD excl. VAT. VAT is added at checkout where applicable; VAT-registered EU and UK businesses enter their VAT number and are charged under the reverse-charge mechanism.
Westartups
Reduced monthly rate, the full platform, and a real person to ask.
- Companies and solo builders
- Full platform included
Frequently asked questions
Sources
- Regulation (EU) 2016/679 (GDPR), Articles 13(1)(a), 14(1)(a), 27, 30(1), 30(2), 30(4) and 83(4)eur-lex.europa.eu
- European Central Bank – Euro foreign exchange reference rates (rates of 3 November 2026)ecb.europa.eu
- UK GDPR, Articles 3(2) and 27 (legislation.gov.uk, revised version)legislation.gov.uk
- EDPB Guidelines 3/2018 on the territorial scope of the GDPR (Article 3), version 2.1, section 4edpb.europa.eu
- UK GDPR, Article 83(4) (legislation.gov.uk, revised version)legislation.gov.uk
- Data Protection Act 2018, section 157 (legislation.gov.uk)legislation.gov.uk
- Autoriteit Persoonsgegevens (Dutch data protection authority) – press release on the LocateFamily.com fine (12 May 2021)autoriteitpersoonsgegevens.nl
Related articles
What is a GDPR representative? Article 27 explained
What a GDPR representative is, who must appoint one under Article 27, what it does and does not do, how to appoint one, and what it costs.
12 min read · Updated
Do US companies need an EU GDPR representative?
Most US companies with EU customers or users must appoint one under Article 27. When it applies, the narrow exemption, and what happens if you skip it.
8 min read · Updated